Mini Book Haul!

A few nights ago I sat down to watch a DVD and an advert came on for a film that looked amazing but really sad. A proper tearjerker. Now, weird fact about me, I’m better with weepy books than with weepy films and I thought if this was a book I’d love to read it. Then it said, based on the best selling novel and I knew I had to have this book! I am wondering how it has passed me by all this time. Usually I’m good at keeping up to date with new releases and it’s rare I haven’t read the book before the film comes out, particularly with historical or crime fiction. 

The next day I wandered in Waterstones because I can’t resist!! And there amongst my favourite buy one get one half price tables at the front, was M L Stedman’s The Light Between Oceans. 


The blurb says that ‘A boat washes up on the shore of a remote light house keeper’s island. It holds a dead man and a crying baby. The only two islanders, Tom and his wife, Izzy, are about to make a devastating decision.’ The cover also says that this is a story about right and wrong when they look the same. I’m hoping this will be a very emotional, beautifully written, literary novel. I can’t wait to read it!

So of course it was buy one get one half price so next I wanted something a little lighter. The past few books I’ve read have been crime and now a book about slavery so I would like something a little happier or more romantic for my next read. 

I was drawn to the cover of The Light of Paris not having read anything by Eleanor Brown before. 


The blurb says that ‘Madeleine is trapped in an unhappy marriage and a life she never wanted. But when she finds her grandmothers old diary she is transported to the glamour and high spirits of Jazz Age Paris, inspired by Margie’s account of an uncharacteristically wild, romantic summer.’

Basically, the words Jazz Age Paris had me sold! I love Paris, it’s a beautiful city and anything set there I want to read. This looks like a promising book, I’ll let you know how it goes!

I hope you enjoyed this mini haul!

Speak soon,

Hannah

X

4 thoughts on “Mini Book Haul!

Add yours

  1. I just read “the light between oceans” and thought it was a great book. The way the story built up reminded me of Agatha Christy stories. Very elegantly done and goes from a love story to drama to thriller.
    I first read the book and then saw the movie. The book was so much better.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

