FASHION: Some Spring Summer Outfits I Can’t Wait To Recycle…

At the same time every year I start to get excited for the new trends. This year ruffles and embroidery, last year beading and trophy jackets. However this year I am trying my best not to go crazy with my spending as I have a few trips over the summer I’m saving for. Therefore I’ve turned to last years wardrobe to find some inspiration.

My favourite dress…

20160727_095757

This is a picture of me in New York wearing a dress from Oasis that I bought for the trip. I’m wearing it here with white lace Keds and gold sunglasses. It’s a shift dress with a v neckline that I find a lot more flattering that a high neck on a shift dress (I feel like I have no shape with a high neck and no waistline). This dress is my favourite because I can wear it so many different ways. For a meal out I’ve worn it with studded gladiator sandals and a biker jacket. In the cooler Newcastle climate I’ve worn it with black tights and heeled ankle boots. I’m intending on wearing it with black heels and a blazer for the upcoming summer ball as well.

My favourite jacket…

20160718_201151 (1).jpg

This trophy jacket is from River Island and I bough it in their mid-season sale last summer. It was originally about £55 but I got it for £25 and have worn it loads! I really like to wear it with jeans a vest top or over a strappy or strapless dress for a bit more coverage. The combination of whites and blues is timeless and of course the embroidery and embossment trend is huge this season so it will definitely be making another appearance. I also like wearing it with a blue and white striped shirt from River Island, the colours are similar but the patterns clash and mixing prints is still a big trend this season!

My favourite shorts…

20160728_150648(2).jpg

This another picture of me on holiday last year. These shorts are actually a couple of years old, I got them on a post 21st birthday shopping trip, so they’re nearly three years old and I wear them every summer. They have a fluted, high-wasted shape so look more like a skirt. They’re super flattering and comfortable and I have worn them both casually and on nights out. For day time, holiday wear I like to pair them with my trusty lace Ked or gladiator sandals, a plain top and a denim jacket. For a night out I’ll wear a cropped t-shirt or lace cami, with wedged heels. These are definitely my favourite pair of shorts I’ve ever owned. I normally feel uncomfortable in shorts but these feel more like a skirt so are really flattering, comfortable and feminine. I’ll definitely be wearing them again this year if we get the weather!

 

I’ve also got plenty of blouses, particularly from Zara, that I’m looking forward to re-wearing. Whenever I shop now I think about how long the items will last. With a good quality printed blouse or a jacket that can be thrown on with jeans, these items should last for years. Knowing how to rework items, so that they can be worn from day to night is also really important. Last year on holiday we stopped at a few different places and because we were doing some domestic flights in the US we couldn’t over pack. Therefore I took a kindle rather than my usual 10-15 paperbacks and I thought out my outfits for each place. Smart but casual for Toronto, casual  and moveable for Travis City and then on trend with dressier options for New York. Doing this made me more aware of how to make my wardrobe work with fewer items.

I can’t wait to start wearing more colour and hopefully we’ll get some decent sunshine so I can wear dresses and shorts again this year. I’m definitely dreaming of light nights and sunshine and while I can’t quite get a tan yet, I can plan my spring summer wardrobe!

Speak soon,

Hannah

x

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

