Spring Summer Trends of 2017

Spring is my favourite time of year and it won’t be long before the clocks change and the nights draw out and the sun shines most days, even if it remains resolutely chilly here in the north east of England. I love the clothes at this time of year as well. Colour, print, flattering shapes. As much as I love bundling up under layers of knitwear, there is something really lovely about wearing lighter fabrics and being able to take time with our hair without worrying that wind and rain will ruin our hard work.

This year in particular the trends are wearable for spring. I can see some of them lasting for a good few seasons to come and I think if you shop carefully, then you can pick up some trend led pieces that will last for years. For the pieces I think are more of a short term thing I have picked quite cheap options, for those pieces I think will last for longer I have gone more high end. Let me know what you think and which trends you’ll be making the most of this season in the comments below.

 

  1. Ruffles!
    It seems pretty obvious that ruffles are going to be big this season, after all they’ve been here for a few seasons now. Ruffled sleeves are big for spring, but swap your ruffled knitwear for a crisp white shirt with extra detailing. Pair with denim for an everyday look or wear a ruffle sleeved dress for evening.
    I love this white shirt from Navy London at ASOS; find it here
    And this beautiful dress from True Decadance at ASOS; find it here

     

  2. Gingham
    I have loved gingham for a long time. I still have a Topshop dress in my wardrobe that is about ten years old that I still wear, it’s a gingham tea dress, a fit and flare with buttons down the front. It looks great with tights and ankle boots. I also have a gingham blouse, last season Zara, that I have worn to death and will keep wearing because it is so versatile. It looks great with jeans and heeled ankle boots and a bold lip for evening or with an oversized cardigan and undone hair for daytime. Here are some of my favourite gingham pieces to buy now!
    This Zara shirt is one that will last from season to season and I love the babydoll shape; find it here
    For something a little different, this gingham jacket from Topshop would look really cool with jeans a vest or dressed up over a little black dress with bare legs and stacked heels; find it here

    Image 2 of BABYDOLL GINGHAM SHIRT from Zara 2017-03-12 (3).png
  3. Different Denim
    There is so much to be done with denim this season. From embroidery to cropped flares, your trusty skinnies in different tones and an oversized denim jacket bleached and shredded.
    I love these khaki jeans from Warehouse. I have them and they fit really nicely (true to size), they’re not overly skinny and have a cropped length so wear really well for daytime and with a heel for night. They go with a surprising amount of different colours as well; find them here.
    I love these frayed jeans from New Look with their embroidered detail. As they’re from New Look they’re very affordable so perfect for trying out a trend that probably won’t be around this time next year; find them here.
    Warehouse, Crop Skinny Cut Jeans Khaki 1  2017-03-12 (4).png
  4. Statement Bags
    I love bags! I try to save and splurge on more expensive hand bags, Michael Kors, DKNY. I love Dune and Aldo, too, for cheaper everyday bags. I’m currently saving for a handbag for my birthday. When it comes to handbags I think it’s worth the investment, even if they are more statement. I think a bright colour or an unusual shape is worth the investment. I would love a new mini Bayswater in red from Mulberry, (find it here), but love the Michael Kors Mercer tote as a more affordable alternative, (find it here). I also love the Marc Jacobs camera bags (find it here) but accessorize have some fantastic alternatives if you don’t want to invest at the moment (find it here).
    2017-03-12 (5).png
    2017-03-12 (6).png2017-03-12 (8).png
  5. Blazers!
    You have probably seen Balmain blazers in all different hues all over Instagram and YouTube. But if, like me, you can’t afford over a grand on one jacket, then fear not, the high street has some great alternatives!
    I love the nude colour of this River Island blazer and its sleeves which are ready rolled, find it here.
    I also really love the military detailing of this Miss Selfridge one (very Balmain) and it comes in a variety of colours including white and khaki, but this pale pink colour is my personal favourite, find it here.
    2017-03-12 (9)2017-03-12 (10)

I hope this post has given you some spring time, fashion inspiration. There will be more fashion themed posts soon!

Speak soon,

Hannah

x

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

