BOOK HAUL, March 2017

I thought I would share my most recent book purchases with you and why I bought them.

Here goes!

1) Exposure, Helen Dunmore


A historical novel set during the Cold War I was intrigued to read about this era of history as I haven’t read much about that time. The blurb describes a woman bursting a breiefcase in her back garden and this have devastating consequences. I’ve heard good things about Dunmore but I am yet to read any of her work so this seemed like a good place to start.

2) The Avenue, Samuel W. Hebert


As part of my MA I have become more interested in local history and I stumbled across this book in the local interest section of Waterstones. It is a biographical account of life in the West End of Newcastle during World War One and beyond. It feels like a really lovely book as well, it’s high quality, not to thick and I’m looking forward to reading something different!

3) On The Other Side, Cassie Hope Fletcher


This is a beautiful book to look at, but the blurb is also intriguing and I suspect this is going to be a lovely, heart warming read. It is about an old woman, Evie Snow who dies peacefully in her sleep but when she gets to heaven she cannot unburden herself enough to get through the door. I am intrigued by the premise and looking forward to reading something different.

5) A Force To Be Reckoned With, Jane Robinson


This was given to me after a writing workshop with the Women’s Institute and I’m really looking forward to reading it. It is a history of the WI which recently celebrated its 100 year anniversary. It’s really nice to read something different, so I can’t wait to get started!

5) Black Watef Lilies, Michel Bussi


The cover spoke to me from across the crowded bookshop. I love crime. I love thrillers. And I love cool book covers. The blurb tells of a murder and three women who are entangled in the mystery of what happened to the victim. There is mention of art and secrets and village life. Can. Not. Wait.

6) Different Class, Joanne Harrie


I have read a few of Joanne Harris’s novels in the past and loved them all. I loved her unique writing style and ability to contour a place and time and develop an intriguing plot. This book looked really interesting as it’s set in a school and discusses difficult students. I like the sound of a psychological thriller and it reminded me of We Need To Talk About Kevin.


Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

