Something a little bit different…

I have always loved reading murder mysteries, in particular Agatha Christie, especially when travelling or during the long, dark winter nights. I have always felt that a well-crafted mystery is one of the trickiest types of writing to pull off. It needs to use misdirection, with varied characters to be suspicious of, include a nod to the stereotypes within the genre and have a plot that still manages to keep readers guessing.
For a long time I have wanted to give writing murder mysteries and crime fiction a go, but they’re such complex things that I felt I needed to write more and go to a few workshops specifically on murder mysteries before giving it a whirl…
But then, while on holiday I was sitting on a ferry from Central Island to Toronto when a plot for a murder mystery popped into my head, along with my very own surprising sleuth. I had a go at scribbling down the first few paragraphs and then became distracted by my travels. Now as you will have read yesterday the novel writing is taking a pause for a few weeks, I want to take a breath and redraft before I go back to my characters. So, it seems like as good a time as any to try something different.
I have decided, in a nod to the past traditions of serialised murder mysteries, to post a murder mystery or two in a series of chapters on this blog. For the first story, Elizabeth Golden and the Ionian Sea, I will be posting over the next few weeks. These will not be perfect, more a second draft rather than a finished piece, but they are just for fun, something I have wanted to do for a while. I hope you enjoy getting to know Elizabeth Golden and if you want to keep up to date with the series of stories as they are written you can sign up to email notifications and you’ll hear whenever I post on the blog.
The first part of Elizabeths story will follow tomorrow, I hope you’ll pop back to have a read.
Speak soon,
Hannah

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

