What’s been inspiring me, recently…

Hi guys, sorry that it has been so long since I posted on here! While I was travelling I just didn’t have time or the WIFI to post. I was just too busy exploring and swimming in lakes to write blog posts, but now I’m back….

So, for the past few weeks I have of course been inspired by my travels. I have been lucky enough to go to Toronto, Niagara Falls, Traverse City in Michigan and New York. While away I was struck by the differences between these places. Toronto is far more relaxed and spaced out that New York. Niagara was just breathtakingly beautiful. Traverse City was the sort of place I could live, with it’s beautiful lakes, forests and sand dunes and the people there were incredibly friendly. Then New York was busy and hot and loud, but beautiful and tall and filled with all of this man-made extravagance.

I have to admit that I barely got any writing done while I was away, one chapter, that’s it. But I don’t really mind. I read a lot and I experienced a whole lot more and I am now ready to keep going with my novel. While I was reading I realised that I do want to try my hand at some crime and murder mysteries, I just need some time to plan them well. I also realised that I need to keep my eye on the strong sense of place that I wanted to include in my novel from the beginning, but have perhaps lost sight of amongst all of my historical research and battles to make my characters real. I also just feel a little braver, in the day-t0-day, thinking about the future and thinking about my writing, so who knows where I, or my writing, will end up?

Anyway, I’ll stop rambling. My point is, getting out of your daily routine, going to a different town or for a different walk, it’s all bound to be good for your writing. So do it and don’t be afraid to take a step back from whatever project you’re currently working on.

Now for shameless snaps from my trip, I hope you like them and feel free to use them as settings for your submission to the next issue of Alliterati….

CN Tower in the background on the water front, Toronto, Canada
CN Tower in the background on the water front, Toronto
Posing by the water in Toronto, Canada
Posing by the water in Toronto
Central Island, Toronto
Central Island, Toronto
One of many beautiful beaches in Traverse City, Michigan
One of many beautiful beaches in Traverse City, Michigan
New York
New York
The 9/11 Memorial
The 9/11 Memorial
The statue of liberty
The statue of liberty

13887031_10153605069905880_4795689866740405501_n

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

